Home/Boris Nemtsov Forum

Boris Nemtsov Forum

The Boris Nemtsov Forum is a platform for pro-democracy Russians
and their European and American peers.
The inaugural Forum was held in Berlin in 2016, and since then it has become an important annual event that brings together leading voices of democratic Russia and European and American politicians and public intellectuals.

Our guests have included Alexei Navalny, Sergey Guriev, Francis Fukuyama, Adam Michnik, Grigory Yudin, Maria Snegovaya, Dmitry Glukhovsky, and many others. The Freedom Speech opens the Forum.

  • Initiated by the Boris Nemtsov Foundation for Freedom
  • Held in early October in a European capital around the date of Boris Nemtsov’s birthday
  • 300-400 guests and attendees
  • Different session styles: podium discussions, working groups and cultural program
  • Working languages are Russian and English


2019 Warsaw, Poland

The Forum took place against the backdrop of increased state-sponsored repression in Russia. The main topic was resilience tactics. The Forum’s participants discussed the ways to preserve basic freedoms in an oppressive political regime and resist propaganda.

Keynote Speakers

Sergey Guriev
Alexey Navalny
Adam Michnik
Zhanna Nemtsova
Vladimir Kara-Murza
Nikolai Petrov
Grigory Yudin

2018 Prague, Czech Republic

In March 2018, Vladimir Putin took the the presidential office for the third time. The future political scenarios for Russia was the key topic of discussion at the Boris Nemtsov Forum.
Video (FreedomTVEurope)

Key Speakers

Guy Verhofstadt
Ilya Yashin
Sergey Aleksashenko
Grigory Yudin
John Bogaerts

2017 Berlin, Germany

Russia civil society and challenges it might face was the main topic of the Forum.

Key Speakers

Maria Snegovaya
Christopher Gohl
Peter Limburg
Dmitriy Vrubel
Elena Panfilova
Stefan Melle
Michael Savva

2016 Berlin, Germany

This Forum was dedicated to the 25th anniversary of the collapse of the Soviet Union and the state of Russian-European relations.

Key Speakers

Elmar Brok
Jerzy Pomianowski
Mikhail Khodorkovsky
Lev Gudkov
Jens Boehlmann
Mikhail Shishkin